International Association of Animal Therapists

Continued Professional Development

The International Association of Animal Therapists expects a high standard of work and commitment from its members and to that end requires them to maintain their skill base by completing Continued Professional Development or CPD.

CPD has been defined as:

"The systematic maintenance, improvement and broadening of knowledge and skills and the development of personal qualities necessary for the execution of professional and technical duties throughout the member's working life."

At IAAT the required minimum CPD is 75 hours over a rolling three year period with an average of 25 hours per year. However, it is appreciated that most of our members will do considerably more than this.

It is important that CPD is completed over as wide an area of knowledge and skills as possible and at IAAT we have 8 key categories of CPD. Members have to complete CPD that covers a minimum of 2 categories per year and over any rolling 3 year period they must have covered a total of 4 categories.

This is to try and avoid the trap of simply attending the same conference every year in order to gain CPD points. Whilst the conference is likely to provide a significant learning opportunity, the requirement to cover additional categories will encourage greater overall development of the individual therapist.

CPD Articles

Canine Assessment & Massage Techniques

Canine Assessment & Massage Techniques

Saturday 21st July 2018 : Kent

View
Equine Hands On Day

Equine Hands On Day

Thursday 9th August 2018 : Avon RDA, Bristol

View
Canine Pelvic Limb & Soft Tissue Anatomy

Canine Pelvic Limb & Soft Tissue Anatomy

Saturday 15th September 2018 : Wigan, Manchester

View
Introduction to working with Reiki with Animals

Introduction to working with Reiki with Animals

Saturday 22nd September 2018 : Wiltshire

View
Introduction to Equine Acupressure & Shiatsu

Introduction to Equine Acupressure & Shiatsu

Saturday 6th October 2018 : Wiltshire

View
Soft Tissue Anatomy of Canine Neck & Spine

Soft Tissue Anatomy of Canine Neck & Spine

Sunday 14th October 2018 : Kent

View
Equine Hands On Day

Equine Hands On Day

Thursday 18th October 2018 : Avon RDA, Bristol

View
Developing Treatment & Rehab Plans

Developing Treatment & Rehab Plans

Saturday 20th October 2018 : Westbury, Wiltshire

View
Supporting your dog : Day 1 of 2

Supporting your dog : Day 1 of 2

Saturday 27th October 2018 : Hove, East Sussex

View
Rehab on Canine Front Limb

Rehab on Canine Front Limb

Saturday 27th October 2018 : Ticknall, Derbyshire

View
Rehab of Canine Iliopsoas, Groin & Hamstring

Rehab of Canine Iliopsoas, Groin & Hamstring

Sunday 28th October 2018 : Ticknall, Derbyshire

View
Canine Orthopaedics

Canine Orthopaedics

Saturday 10th November 2018 : Stroud, Gloucestershire

View
Canine Neurology

Canine Neurology

Sunday 11th November 2018 : Stroud, Gloucestershire

View
Canine Soft Tissue & Thoracic Limb

Canine Soft Tissue & Thoracic Limb

Saturday 17th November 2018 : Wigan, Manchester

View
Canine Limb Dissection

Canine Limb Dissection

Sunday 18th November 2018 : Taunton, Somerset

View
Supporting your dog : Day 2 of 2

Supporting your dog : Day 2 of 2

Saturday 24th November 2108 : Hove, East Sussex

View
Introduction to Canine Massage

Introduction to Canine Massage

Saturday 1st December 2018 : Kent

View
Equine Hands On Day

Equine Hands On Day

Thursday 6th December 2018 : Avon RDA, Bristol

View
Cruciate Disease & Osteoarthritis

Cruciate Disease & Osteoarthritis

Sunday 9th December 2018 : Stroud, Gloucestershire

View
Understanding Other Therapies

Understanding Other Therapies

Saturday 23rd June - Heywood, Wiltshire

View
Saddle Research Trust Conference

Saddle Research Trust Conference

Saturday 8th December, University of Nottingham

View

Links to other relevant CPDs

Good general CPD links

View